James William Moore Federal Practice Award Twelfth Annual Award (2011)

Students must login to LexisNexis to access the full information for this competition: http://www.lexisnexis.com/lawschool/content.aspx?articleid=683&topicid=11&WT.ad=120

James William Moore Federal Practice Award Twelfth Annual Award (2011)

LexisNexis® is pleased to announce the Twelfth Annual James William Moore Federal Practice Award.

Named after the author of the leading treatise on federal civil practice and procedure, Moore’s Federal Practice®, the award is intended to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship in this complex and evolving area of the law. This year’s prize of $2,000 will be awarded in the fall of 2011.

One paper will be selected as winner of the Award, and the winning author will receive:

• A cash prize of $2,000

• A full set of Moore’s Federal Rules Pamphlets

• Publicity of his or her name in connection with the award

• In addition to the award given to the author, the winning entrant’s law review or journal will be awarded $1,000

Deadline for submission of articles to be considered for this year’s Award is June 1, 2011. Any submission postmarked later than June 1st will not be considered. Winners will be selected on or about October 1, 2011.

If you have any questions, please contact Mark Landis at 800-424-0651, ext. 3300.

Union International des Avocats 2nd Jacques Leroy International Prize

The Union Internationale des Avocats (UIA - International Association of Lawyers) is launching the 2nd Jacques Leroy International Prize - Business and Human Rights for law student of less than 30 years.

Students who wish to compete for this prize must send a dissertation (plea, study, commentary of a practical case) that deals with the theme Human Rights and business, to the UIA before May 31, 2011.

The winner will be rewarded with participation in the UIA annual congress that will take place in Miami (United States) from October 31 to November 4, 2011, including travel costs, accommodation and a cash prize of € 1000, as well as free membership in the UIA for a year.

Download the competition flyer

Download the competition rules

Download the promotional poster


2011 Howard C. Schwab Memorial Essay Contest for Law Students

The American Bar Association Section of Family Law is pleased to present its Howard C. Schwab Memorial Essay Contest. This contest is held annually to encourage interest in the field of family law. Not only does the contest encourage innovative thought in family law, but it also provides an opportunity for recognition and publication in the scholarly journal Family Law Quarterly.

Applicants may submit an essay on any aspect of family law and entrants are encouraged to write on subjects of national interest. However, if the law in one state reflects a significant development or trend, that too could be an appropriate subject for an entry. With the vast scope of family law, the possibilities are endless.

The breadth of originality and analysis of past winners is a great testament to the quality of our nation's law schools and educators. Past topics of winning essays include transsexuals and the legal determination of sex, same-sex marriages, federal responsibility for indigent elderly, interpretation of Islamic marriage contracts, the Indian Child Welfare Act, polygamy and marital counseling laws.
Additional information about the Schwab Memorial Essay Contest can be found at here.  Please also click on the picture below.

Deadline for entries is April 29, 2011. (Students must apply for an entry number by April 22nd.)

If you have any questions regarding the essay contest, please contact Carrie Asalon of the ABA Section of Family Law at 312-988-5145 or e-mail carrie.asalon@americanbar.org.


Biunno Scholarship Program 2011-2012

The Essex County Bar Association (ECBA) and its Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, in conjunction with the Honorable Vincent J. Biunno Memorial Fund, is pleased to announce the continuation of the Biunno Scholarship Program for the 2011-2012 school year. 

The scholarships are designed to offer financial assistance to persons with disabilities who are currently attending law school.

Please click on the pictures below for more information.  The application deadline is May 6, 2011.


2011 Brown Award for Excellence in Legal Writing

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation is sponsoring the Eighteenth Annual Brown Award for Excellence in Legal Writing.  This year the stipend for the winner is $10,000.

Please click on the picture below for more information.

Deadline: May 20, 2011