2015 Elliot A. Spoon Business Law Writing Competition

The Michigan State University College of Law Journal of Business & Securities Law announces the release of the 2015 Elliot A. Spoon Business Law Writing Competition.

Eligible students are invited to submit a business or securities law article in law review format to jbsl@law.msu.edu by February 20, 2015.

All inquiries should be directed to Ashley Byers: jbsl@law.msu.edu.   Visit the following link for more information: http://www.msujbsl.com/sites/default/files/Spoon%20Writing%20Competition%20Flyer.pdf.


ABA Legal Opportunity Scholarship Fund for Incoming Students

The ABA Legal Opportunity Scholarship grants 20 incoming diverse law students with $15,000 of financial assistance over the course of their three years in law school.  During his term as ABA President, William G. Paul initiated the scholarship to encourage racially and ethnically diverse students to apply to and attend law school.

The deadline to apply is March 2, 2015.  Please visit the following ABA webpage for more information: http://www.americanbar.org/groups/diversity/diversity_pipeline/projects_initiatives/legal_opportunity_scholarship.html .

Baumgartner Law Firm Scholarship

The Baumgartner Law Firm offers a scholarship for current or incoming law students based on need and commitment to helping others. One student will receive a $3,000 scholarship.  

Criteria: Applicants must be enrolled or accepted at an accredited Law School in the US, (persons who have applied to law school but have not yet been accepted may apply, however, the scholarship will only be awarded to someone enrolled in an accredited school at the time of scholarship selection).   

Deadline to apply: August 31, 2015.  

 Application: Applicants apply online and the application can be found at: https://baumgartnerlawyers.com/baumgartner-law-firm-scholarship-application.  The award will be announced by November 30, 2015. 

About Baumgartner Law Firm: The Baumgartner Law Firm is a leading personal injury law firm based in Houston, Texas. 


2015 1L SUMMER INTERNSHIP PROGRAM Prudential Financial, Inc.

The American Bar Association’s (ABA) Commission on Disability Rights is pleased to partner with Prudential Financial, Inc. (Prudential) to provide a meaningful summer internship opportunity for a highly motivated, first-year law student with a disability. The Commission will select a law student with a disability to join the 2015 summer law intern program at Prudential’s New Jersey/New York offices. The 1L summer internship will run 10 weeks—from May 26 to August 7, 2015. Interns will be paid a stipend of approximately $10,000, which shall accrue and be paid on an hourly basis. 

For more information, please visit http://www.americanbar.org/groups/disabilityrights/resources/employment/aba_prudential_internship.html.

All materials must be received by 5:00 p.m. EST on February 6, 2015.  Finalists will be selected and notified on or before March 9, 2015.

2015 Securities, Finance Law and Business Seminar Series

The deadline has been extended to Thursday, January 1st.

NYCBA is still accepting applications for the 2015 New York City Bar and the Alliance of Securities and Financial Educators Securities, Finance Law and Business Seminar Series, beginning in January.

If you or anyone in your network is interested in serving as an Advisor-Volunteer, please visit: http://www.nycbar.org/asafe#volunteers for more information and the registration link.

The deadline for students to apply for the seminar series is Thursday, January 1. More information can be found at www.nycbar.org/ASAFE.

Mid-Atlantic People of Color (MAPOC) 2015 Call for Papers

The 19th Mid-Atlantic People of Color Conference (MAPOC) is taking place from January 29-31, 2015, in Morgantown, West Virginia at West Virginia University College of Law and in connection with the conference MAPOC is sponsoring a writing competition open to all currently enrolled law students of any level, J.D., LL.M., and S.J.D., at a U.S. law school. 

Papers should be between 15,000-25,000 words in length and there is a preference for papers related to the conference theme but they will accept papers on other topics as well. 

Please email submissions (and any questions) to erosser@wcl.american.edu no later than January 1, 2015. The  winning submission will receive $300 and travel expenses to attend the Conference. The two runner-ups will receive $100 each.

For more information, please visit http://law.wvu.edu/mapoc2015/mapoc-2015-papers.


Are you looking for a fellowship, internship or externship?

The American Bar Association announces the following fellowship, internship and externship opportunities:

Antitrust Law Student Fellowship
Application deadline: December 15
Sponsors: New York Bar Foundation through gifts from the Antitrust Section of the New York State Bar Association
Ten (10) week fellowship working on antitrust matters in one of the following agencies: the New York Office of New York Attorney General, Antitrust Bureau; Federal Trade Commission, Northeast Region; or Department of Justice Antitrust Division, New York Field Office. Fellows will be guest members of the NYSBA Antitrust Section for two years starting with the award of the Fellowship.

Business Law Diversity Clerkship Program
Application deadline: December 26
The Business Law Section Diversity Clerkship Program encourages students to pursue business court clerkship opportunities and to consider careers in the practice of business law by placing 9 students in business courts across the country, and providing a $6,000 stipend.

Judicial Intern Opportunity Program (JIOP)
Application deadline: January 9

Designed to place diverse law students with state and federal judges for summer internships. JIOP is a full-time, six-week minimum summer internship open to all first- or second-year diverse law students who are interested in doing legal research and writing for federal and state judges in participating cities.

Antitrust Section Janet D. Steiger Fellowship Project
Application deadline: January 12
This 8-week paid Fellowship provides law students of color with an opportunity to work in the in the consumer protection and antitrust departments of state and territorial Offices of Attorneys General throughout the United States, as well as the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, the Georgia Governor's Office of Consumer Affairs, and the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Protection.

2014-2015 Global Justice Fellowships
Entry Deadline: Rolling Basis
Awarded to law students or recent graduates in support of atrocity prevention and accountability, with particular emphasis on the ABA-ICC Project. Fellowships are designed to promote international justice, rule of law, and conflict resolution. For more information, contact Michael Pates, Director, Center for Human Rights.
Sponsored by the Center for Human Rights and the Planethood Foundation