Stephen E. Herrmann Environmental Writing Award

The American College of Environmental Lawyers announces its annual Stephan E. Herrmann Environmental Writing Award for the 2015-2016 academic year.

The Herrmann Award is a stipend of $3,500 to the author of the winning submission, whether an article, note, case comment or essay, and $500 to the submitting law journal. The winner of the Herrmann Award will be invited to present his or her submission to the Fellows at the ACOEL Annual Meeting.

Student edited law journals or equivalent publications published by accredited U.S. law schools are eligible to submit annually a single candidate article, note, case comment or essay selected for its ability to promote understanding of legal issues in the broad field of environmental law, including natural resources law or environmental or resources aspects of energy law.

The submission deadline is June 10, 2016.

More details and submission information are available in the link below.


Annual Law Student Writing Competition 2015-2016

The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers is pleased to announce the Annual Law Student Writing Competition 2015-2016, which is co-sponsored by the ABA Section of Labor & Employment  Law.

Authors may not have graduated from law school prior to December 1, 2015. Graduate Students in law school (LLM candidates) are not eligible. Entries should address aspects of public or private sector labor and/or employment law relevant to the American labor and employment bar.

  • Students are encouraged to discuss a public policy issue, practical implications of a leading case or doctrine, a statute or the need for statutory modification, or a common law doctrine. 
  • Articles may address U.S. law, international law of relevance to U.S. labor and employment attorneys, or how a legal topic is treated in states across the country. 
First Place: $3000, Second Place:$1000, Third Place: $500.
  • The first-place winning article will be published in the ABA Journal of Labor & Employment Law. In addition, the author will be a guest at the annual CLE program, of the ABA Section of Labor & Employment Law and honored at the Annual Induction Dinner of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers.
Articles must be submitted by midnight (EDT) on June 15, 2016. 

More information regarding the competition rules can be found below.




The Competition honors the memory of three leading figures in American city planning law is open to law students and planning students writing on a question of significance in planning, planning law, land use law, local government or environmental law.

Entries should demonstrate original thought on a question of significance in either city planning or associated areas of law.

The winning entry will be awarded a prize of $2,000 and submitted for publication in The Urban Lawyer, the law journal of the American Bar Association's Section of State & Local Government Law. The Second Place paper will receive a prize of $400 and one Honorable Mention prize of $100 will be awarded.

The deadline for submission of entries is June 3, 2016 and winners will be announced by August 22, 2016.

For further details regarding the competition please visit the link below.


Empowering Women Scholarship

The Pearce Law Firm is pleased to announce our 2017 scholarship award for women studying law. The annual scholarship of $1500 will be awarded at the beginning of the fall semester (2017).

The application is due May 31, 2017.

This scholarship is judged and awarded primarily on academic achievement, school and community activities, and demonstrated leadership abilities. However, financial need will be given some consideration.

Must have a minimum G.P.A. of 3.0.

The applicant must be a current female law student.

For further information regarding the application please visit link below.


2016 Professor William R. Ginsberg Memorial Essay Contest

The Professor William R. Ginsberg Memorial Essay Contest is an annual competition designed to challenge law students to analyze environmental issues confronting us today.

Any topic in environmental law.

Contest open to all JD and LLM candidate students enrolled in New York State law school. Essays may have been submitted for course credit or for law reviews, but not as part of paid employment.

Maximum length, 35 double-spaced page.

Each entrant MUST submit a hard copt and an electronic version in Microsoft Work.

The first place winner will receive a $1,000 prize, the second place winner will receive a $500 prize, and third place will receive $250. All winners will receive certificates.

To Enter:
Send hard copy to New York State Bar Association, One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207, and email your entry to kplog@nysba.org.

Deadline: June 1, 2016.

For Further Information:
Contact Miriam E. Villani, Esq.
Sahn Ward Coschignano, PLLC
333 Earle Ovington Blvd., Suite 601
Uniondale, New York 11553


2016 Legal Writing Contest

The International Association of Defense Counsel announces its 2016 Legal Writing Contest, which is open to students in accredited law schools in the United States and Canada. IADC is an association of lawyers, barristers, solicitors, corporate counsel, and insurance executives from over 40 nations.

Entries must be the original work of a single author, not previously published, and they must cover the fields of tort law, insurance law, civil procedure, evidence, or other areas of practical concern to lawyers engaged in the defense or management of the defense of civil litigation.

Monetary Awards
An IADC committee will judge the contest and will reward monetary prizes of US $2,000 for the first place, US $1,000 for second, and $500 for third place. The judges also may award honorable mentions. Winning and honorable mention entries will be considered for publications in the IADC's quarterly Defense Counsel Journal.

Deadline for 2016 Entries
Entries must be received on or before Friday, May 20, 2016.

Further information regarding the contest is also available at http://www.iadclaw.org/publications/legal-writing-contest/.

Peck Law Firm Scholarship

The Peck Law Firm of Charleston, SC is proud to announce the 2016 Peck Law Firm Scholarship. This $2,000 scholarship is dedicated to helping the scholarship winner pay for a law-related college, graduate school, or law school degree.
The Peck Law Firm helps men and women find solutions to their divorce, child custody, alimony, property division, and family law problems throughout the Low Country of South Carolina.

Who Can Apply?
This scholarship is open to any American citizen, who will have graduated from high school before July 1, 2016. Only students, who have a 3.0 GPA or higher and who are seeking a law-related degree, may apply for this scholarship.

Scholarship Amount and Deadline
Any student seeking the scholarship must complete the on-line application, which appears below. All written scholarship submission materials must be received by 11:59 PM EST on May 31, 2016. The winner will be announced on July 31 and will receive a one-time award of $2,000 to be used for school-related expenses.

Judging Criteria
This scholarship will be judged and awarded primarily on academic achievement and a written response of not more than 1,500 words to the essay question. Although not required, applicants are encouraged to submit recommendation letters and resumes.

How to Apply?

Each applicant must fill out the form below and submit an essay of not more than 1,500 words in which the applicant answers the question: What effects will the legalization of gay marriage have on religion, culture, and/or family law in America?